Gluten is the protein found in cereal grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and any related products. For some, gluten consumption creates a toxic reaction in the gut, which creates damage in the small intestines. It is therefore imperative, that those with gluten intolerance learn to read labels and to recognize which grains are available to them.
|Grains without Gluten:||Grains with Gluten:|
Oats are a grain that if pure and uncontaminated, may be consumed by people with gluten intolerance. Gluten-free oats are available, just be sure to check the labels before purchasing.
Gluten hides in many food products that you may not think of as containing grain. These are some foods/products to be careful with as they may contain gluten.
|May Contain Gluten:|
|Beers, Ales, Lagers||Imitation Seafood|
|Breading & Coating Mixes||Marinades|
|Brown Rice Syrup||Nutritional Supplements|
|Communion Wafers||Processed Luncheon Meats|
|Drugs & Over the Counter Medications||Soy Sauce or Soy Sauce Solids|
|Energy Bars||Soup Bases|
|Flour & Cereal Products||Soup Stuffings, Dressings|
|Herbal Supplements||Thickeners (Roux)|
|Imitation Bacon||Vitamins & Mineral Supplements|
Wines and hard liquors do not contain gluten, and gluten-free beers are available. Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are also gluten-free. Malt vinegars, along with beers, ales, and lagers are NOT gluten-free and should be avoided by those with gluten intolerance.
Read Your Labels
The most important thing to remember when dealing with gluten intolerance is to always read the labels, and to ASK if you are unsure what the product contains. Manufacturers can change what is in their products at any time, so always read the labels before purchasing any food/product. When eating out, it is important to ask the waiter to speak to the chef and figure out which menu items fit your intolerance. And remember, wheat-free is NOT necessarily gluten-free.
My Gluten-Free Flour Mixes:
|Rice Flour Mix||Sorghum-Millet Flour Mix*|
|Makes 5 cups||Makes 5 cups|
|3 cups brown rice flour||1 cup sorghum flour|
|1 cup potato starch||1 ½ cup tapioca flour|
|1 cup tapioca starch||1 ½ cup potato starch|
|1 cup millet flour|
|*You may substitute quinoa or garbanzo flour for the sorghum. These flours have a stronger taste than sorghum or millet flour and are best used in baked goods with strong flavors like chocolate or banana.|